Resolve to Make A Difference in 2017

2017As 2016 draws to a close, many take a moment to reflect and make resolutions to do better in the New Year. Typically weight loss, saving money and staying organized top the lists of what people want to accomplish.

Some people want to improve themselves or make a difference in the new year. But how do you measure quality time with others when often it is not on the daily “to-do” list? Volunteering with Better Together or Everyday Heroes Mentoring may be a way to easily appeal to those who need to check something off a list, make a difference and make a resolution that will last beyond the first of February. Meeting with an older adult or student in need are things that can be scheduled and make a difference at the same time.

January is the perfect time to start either program. Older adults are even more home bound and lonely during the cold winter months. Local students need something to feel hopeful about as they complete their school year.  We recently heard from a volunteer who said, “I was honestly nervous to start this…but now I wish I had done it years ago.  It has truly been such a rewarding experience and I look so forward to our visits every week.  Our time goes fast, but before I leave(my student) always asks me how many days it is until I come back.  The only difficult thing has been me wanting to help more…I know there are many things she needs and I wish I could do more to help her and her siblings.  I really enjoy being a mentor!”

Don’t wait! Apply today.

Post by Michelle Madsen

Leave a Reply

