Fall in Love

Even though Valentine’s Day has come and gone, there are ample opportunities to find something you love everyday of the year. Today, we want to tell you about a new mentor who attended a Mentor Try-It Lunch in January. When she was least expecting it (volunteering over her lunch hour), she fell in love. Here is what she had to say about the experience…

One morning I received an email from my Human Resource Manager. It was another volunteering opportunity in the subject line. I opened the email and started to read about the LSS Mentoring Program. After I was finished reading through the information, I thought to myself that I really do not do much for people I do not know or for my community. This program would be outside my comfort zone in a way, but right then I made a promise to myself that I would try it out.

I just came back from the event today. I fell in love. I fell in love with the child I was paired with, the meaning behind all of this, and what the program stood for.

There are many families and children struggling around the world; and some of those are in our own backyard. I want to make a difference. It may be a small step forward, but I truly want to help. I want to be a friend to those who need one. I believe I can help change the life of a child in a small way, and they will end up changing mine as well.

So…we challenge you to take a leap of faith and just TRY mentoring. It might be out of your comfort zone. It might be yet another volunteer opportunity. And it might be something that you fall in love with too.

It just so happens that LSS is hosting a Try It lunch next week and we still need a few volunteers. Please join us on Wednesday, February 24, 11-12 at Anne Sullivan, 3701 E. 3rd Street. If you are able to attend, please send us an email or call us at 605-221-2403 to RSVP by Monday, February 22.

And pssstt….you don’t have to attend a lunch event to become a mentor. We would be happy to meet with you to talk about what mentoring is and how you can help meet the needs of students in our community. Of if you know you want to join us, apply today!

Leave a Reply

