When Wiping Out is Worth It

I could probably have asked another staff person to help the kids at the skating rink today instead of going myself. I decided that it is just too important for me to miss! As a Director and as a parent I try very hard to be intentional about my actions. I try to do what is best for the kids and what fits with the mission, vision and values of Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota. Sometimes I overthink it. I have a lot to do each day. So, why in the world would I spend the better part of a morning going in circles at Skate City with school age kids?

  1. The kids like to see me being silly. They like it when I do the YMCA and giggle with them. They need to know that I can have fun with them and enjoy their company.
  2. I stink at skating. That’s right. I said it. I am not athletic or coordinated so skating isn’t my strongest skill. I can Hokey Pokey with the best of them and am great at skating with kids that are having a hard time, but I don’t look graceful when I skate and I’m slow. Kids who struggle with skating need to see that it is ok to try things that are hard and to practice a new skill before they are good at it. For that matter, all kids need to see grown ups struggling or doing things that are hard. It lets them know it is alright to do the same.
  3. I am part of the team. I get to skate with the kids and help my co-workers as we spend time with the kids. We work as a team to ensure every kid has a fun, safe and memorable time.
  4. It is tradition. The kids can count on me joining them on this field trip whenever I am able to. They request the same songs and do the same things.
  5. It is fun!!! (When I asked the kids why they think I go along, this is what they said. I agree!)

My purpose in telling you this is to encourage you to have fun with the kids in your life. (If there aren’t kids in your life, maybe you would make a great mentor!) Do the things you aren’t skilled in and learn with them. Laugh and be silly. Create fun.

Have fun!

Back on Solid Ground,

Heather DeWit

skating

Not my best look but it is important to be in pics even when they aren’t perfect. That sounds like another blog post idea!

Leave a Reply

