How to Wake Up Smiling

Nearly everyone who knows me knows that I care deeply about children and am driven by a desire to see children feel loved and cared for as they learn. I am fueled by “kid noise” and energized by their smiles and incredible ability to learn. What I don’t talk about as often is the incredible blessing it is to work with staff as they learn and grow along side of the children. They are an inspiration to me and make me better each day.

One of our beautiful team members is Brittany. When Brittany started her job with LSS Childcare and Education her heart for the children could not be missed. She joined our program as one of the most caring people I’ve ever met and the children in our programs instantly noticed her compassion and were drawn to her gentle spirit. That was over a year ago and the Brittany that is working today is even more amazing! Brittany left us to go to college outside of Sioux Falls but comes back on her breaks to reconnect with the children. She is more confident and a leader in our program. Her smile lights up a room and the kids are so very happy to see her each day.

Brittany

I asked Brittany to tell us why she works at LSS and her radiant smile and quick response assured me that she was happy to share her story. She writes:

“I love working at Lutheran Social Services. I look forward to every chance I get to come back and visit the kids. The staff is absolutely great and understanding and will always be there for you no matter what. I went back to college after working here at LSS for over 1.5 years. I got to work in each and every room and get to know each and every kid. It’s rewarding to watch the kids grow up and see what they are learning. LSS is a great place to work and you get to see the kids grow up.” –Brittany

Thank you Brittany for choosing LSS and for the life long impact you are making on children!

With gratitude,

Heather DeWit, Director of Childcare and Education Services

Would you like to join Britttany and the rest of the team? Check us out at: http://www.lsssd.org/news_events/lssemployment.html or email Learning@LssSD.org to learn more.

 

Leave a Reply

