Memorial Day Gratitude

I often ask my daughters questions to learn more about what they think and believe. One of my favorites is asking them which 3 words they would use to describe themselves. In the last few months, my seven year old has added a new word to her list- patriotic. Her favorite colors are now red, white and blue. It makes me smile.

In light of Memorial Day, her love of country took on new meaning for me. I thought for a moment about what it would be like if she grew up to serve our country in the military. My first thought was that I would be incredibly proud. But I quickly started to think about how scared I would feel if she were fighting for our freedom and how much it would hurt if something happened to her. My thoughts turned to the many mothers that have lost their own precious children for our country. I am so humbled by that sort of sacrifice.

Therefore,

To the mothers that lay awake at night, fearing the worst, and praying for the best,

Thank you.

To the fathers that hugged a son goodbye, hoping the hug would not be the last,

Thank you.

To the grandparents, filled with pride but also sadly aware of the possible cost,

Thank you.

To the little sister that doesn’t understand but has to learn too soon,

Thank you.

To the brave men and women in uniform that are willing to make the ultimate sacrifice,

Thank you.

I am always thankful but today, we remember.

With gratitude,
Heather DeWit, Director of Childcare and Education Services
image

Leave a Reply

