Pitbull Raps About Finances?!?

I woke up to work out one morning to the sound of raindrops on the roof.  To me that meant one thing, my run would have to be on the treadmill this morning.  To try to distract myself from the monotony of running on the treadmill, I was paying special attention to the lyrics of the songs playing through my headphones.  The song that came on first was “Hey Baby” by Pitbull and T-Pain.  I was surprised to find that within the lyrics of this rapping and partying duo was a line in Spanish that means “He who doesn’t listen to advice, doesn’t grow to an old age.” 

It got me thinking about how we all need the advice of someone with experience at some point in our life.  I remember when I became a mom for the first time and constantly asked other more-experienced moms for advice on this or that.  The same could be said for many of my clients that I provide financial counseling to.  They reached a point in their life where finances got tight for one reason or another and they chose to talk to someone with experience that can help them through.

As I continued my run, the next song I heard was Feel This Moment, by Pitbull Pitbull-rap-23and Christina Aguilera.  The first line in that song was even better: “Ask for money, get advice.  Ask for advice, get money twice.”  This second one really got me thinking about the truth behind it.  It reminded me of all the times when I was in high school and asked my parents for money. The first thing I always got was advice in the form of a lecture about how I could have better planned how I spent my money from my small part-time job.

On the other hand, I was reminded of all the clients I have counseled.  Most come to me because they realize their finances are tight or maybe just a little disorganized.  They could have just asked family or friends for money to make it through the month.  Instead, they decided to come ask for advice.  They learn ideas on how to better organize and address their finances and they learn tips and tricks to manage their money better day to day. (Let’s face it, we all get a little busy as the month goes on and it can be hard to keep track of how much we’ve spent on gas, groceries, pet food, toiletries, etc.)

As this line came over my headphones, I thought to myself, “The clients I have work with don’t only receive money twice, they receive extra money in their pocket for each month going forward because they have taken the time to ask for advice that they can use for the rest of their life.”

written by Sara Ramirez
image courtesy starpulse.com

Leave a Reply

