Meet the Bloggers: Heather DeWit

familyphotoName:

Heather DeWit

LSS Story:

In 1997 I began my LSS adventure as an Assistant Teacher while I was still in High School.  I continued to love my time at LSS throughout my college career and graduated from the University of Sioux Falls ready to continue on at LSS with my dream career. I have enjoyed the ongoing education that this career has made possible.

As Director of Childcare and Education Services I adore the opportunity to make a difference for the lives of students and their families. As I watch the amazing teachers positively impacting the future, I am in awe that I get the incredible responsibility and blessing of leading such a great team.

I am very, very passionate about the need for quality after-school and summer programs for school age students as well as early childhood education. I am thrilled that I am able to impact that need.  As you can tell in my post on Dogfooding at LSS, I’m a big fan of LSS!

At Home:

I am a proud mom of 6 and 8 year old girls. My husband and I love our family time and have been able to share all of our hobbies with the girls. We love photography, hot air balloon crewing, flying stunt kites, hiking, riding bike and board games.  We have been blessed with a caring, loving church family and the four of us enjoy being active at Community Reformed Church and love to find unique ways to serve God together.  We are all 4 night owls so getting up in the morning is always a bit of a challenge. My husband and I enjoy a good crime drama here and there when we find time to turn on Netflix but are more often enjoy time outdoors with our kids and little dog.  We have very close and wonderful extended families so our lives are filled with aunts, uncles, grandparents, siblings, cousins and friends.

Food and Music:

I’m not much of a cook so the four of us tend to eat out pretty often. We enjoy Mexican cuisine but I can’t pass up good sushi either. My taste in music is far more eclectic than my taste in food. I love the LifeLight festival and Christian music in a variety of genres. I also enjoy folk, classical, pop and can’t pass up good musical theatre. I enjoyed seeing U2 in the rain one summer and would definitely see Jason Mraz again if I had the chance.

Thank you for continuing to read the LSS blog. I hope that you are able to find information and stories that enrich your life and inform your own story. I know that has been the case for me. It is truly a blessing to be part of the LSS team and the blog allows me to spill a little of that joy onto your computer screen.

With gratitude,

Heather

Leave a Reply

