Even More Unique Gift Ideas for Kids

Last year I wrote a blog post on Unique Christmas Gift Ideas for Kids.  It includes a list of gifts that most kids won’t have already received. I realized that I forgot an important option on my list and wanted to add something this year. Consider giving the children in your life something that they can share or give to others. There are many ways to do this but I’ve collected a few ideas. Please read them and share your own ideas in the comments or on our Facebook page.

  • The bag of change- My daughters have always love tossing change in the buckets for the bell ringers outside of stores. However, since I typically use my debit card I didn’t always have a few cents or even a dollar or two for them to use. Now at the beginning of “bell ringer season” each daughter receives a bag of pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters that they can use to keep the Salvation Army buckets busy. The girls always end up digging into their own purses for some change to add to their baggies.
  • Let them choose- One of the most meaningful gifts I have ever received was from my mom. One year she decided to donate to LSS as my Christmas gift! She knew that I would be excited that she chose something I am so passionate about. Ask the child what they would like to donate to.
  • Adopt some rainforest- There are many conservation groups that offer the option of adopting an acre of rainforest or even protecting some animals. Local zoos also request funds to care for animals.
  • Buy a cow- heifer.org offers an alternative gift catalog. You can even buy a camel for a family in Africa or Asia.
  • Go shopping together to meet the needs of one person. Our family enjoys packing a shoebox for Operation Christmas Child. Another fun option we will be trying is packing up a welcome box for someone just arriving in the United States.
  • Make something for someone. Give the child a craft kit that would allow them to make a blanket for a sick child in the hospital, a toy for a puppy in the humane society or cards for those serving overseas.

These types of gifts will be memorable for a child and are guaranteed to create a lasting lesson.

Hoping this season fills you with joy and generosity,

Heather DeWit
Director of Childcare and Education

Also, I better take this opportunity to encourage you to check out our Preschool and Infant/Toddler Program Door Decorating Contest on Facebook. I know some teachers that would love your vote in this festive, fun and friendly competition. You can even share it on your own page to generate some votes for your favorite.

Door 1Door 2

Door 3Door 5

Door 4Door 6

Leave a Reply

